Tea Party Was Not The Election Day Loser

In the days following last week’s election, Beltway pundits have put a lot of names on the table as “Tea Party casualties,” as if referring to a third political party.

The Tea Party is not a political party; it’s an informal community of Americans who support a set of fiscally conservative issues. And when you take a look at the roster of new fiscal conservatives being sent to Congress next year, it’s clear our issues are winning.

In the Senate, Ted Cruz (Texas) and Jeff Flake (Arizona) will join a growing bloc of fiscal conservatives, including Marco Rubio (Florida), Mike Lee (Utah), Pat Toomey (Pennslyvania) and Rand Paul (Kentucky).

In the House of Representatives, a long list of fiscal conservatives will qualitatively improve the composition of the Republican majority. Among them are Ted Yoho (Florida-3), Ron DeSantis (Florida-6), Trey Radel (Florida-19), Jackie Walorski (Indiana-02), Thomas Massie (Kentucky-4), Andy Barr (Kentucky-6), Kerry Bentivolio (Michigan-11), Ann Wagner (Missouri-2), Steve Daines (Montana-at-large), Richard Hudson (North Carolina-8), Robert Pittenger (North Carolina-9), Mark Meadows (North Carolina-11), George Holding (North Carolina-13), Kevin Cramer (North Dakota-at-large), Brad Wenstrup (Ohio-2), Keith Rothfus (Pennsylvania-12), Randy Weber (Tekas-14), Roger Williams (Texas-25), Matt Salmon (Arizona-05), Tom Cotton (Alaska-4), Doug Collins (Georgia-9), and Jim Bridenstine (Oklahoma-1). To name a few.

Now that the dust has settled, the electoral trend of 2012 is clear: when candidates run on a message of conservative economic policy and limited government, they win.

Read more from this story HERE.